Home / OpenStack

Deleting volumes – OpenStack

Rating: 5.0Blog-star
Views: 2390
by Ravindra Savaram
Last modified: February 3rd 2021

At some point, you will no longer need the volumes you have created. To remove the volumes from the system permanently, so that they are no longer available, we simply pull out another tool from Nova Client, the volume-delete.

Process of Deleting Volumes

Ensure that you are logged into that Ubuntu host where Nova Client is installed and have sourced in your OpenStack environment credentials.

To gain in-depth knowledge and be on par with practical experience, then explore  OpenStack Training course.

 

Be aware, this is a one-way deletion of data. It’s gone. Unless you’ve good backups, you will want to ensure you really want it to be gone.
To delete a volume using Nova Client, carry out the following steps:

  • First, we list the volumes available to identify the volume we want to delete, as follows:
nova volume-list
  • We now simply use the volume ID to delete this from the system, as follows:
nova volume-delete 
  • On deletion, the volume you have deleted will be printed on screen.

Deleting images removes the LVM volume from use within our system. To do this, we simply specify the volume ID as a parameter to nova volume-delete (when using Nova Client), first ensuring that the volume is not in use.
https://docs.openstack.org/user-guide/common/cli_manage_volumes.html

 

Related Pages:
Openstack Tutorial

Sample Resume:
Openstack Sample Resumes

Interview Questions:
Openstack Interview Questions

 

About Author

author
NameRavindra Savaram
Author Bio

 

Ravindra Savaram is a Content Lead at Mindmajix.com. His passion lies in writing articles on the most popular IT platforms including Machine learning, DevOps, Data Science, Artificial Intelligence, RPA, Deep Learning, and so on. You can stay up to date on all these technologies by following him on LinkedIn and Twitter.